Driving With a Suspended or Revoked License in Florida (Part A)
Posted on September 13, 2010 in: Traffic Cases
Driving with a suspended license in Florida can result in a serious criminal charge. If you are convicted of driving with a suspended license in Florida, this will be a second degree misdemeanor, which carries a maximum 60 day jail sentence, and a maximum $500 fine.
If you never received notification that your license was suspended, a Miami traffic defense attorney may be able to help you beat the charge.
Therefore, you should never immediately plead guilty to driving with a suspended or revoked license in Florida. Instead, contact a Miami traffic defense attorney. An attorney can advise you on your license suspension and let you know what your legal options are for fighting the charges in court.
What happens if I was driving with a suspended license in Florida?
A first offense of driving with a suspended license in Florida will result in:
- a second degree misdemeanor;
- a maximum 60 day jail sentence; and
- a maximum fine of $500.
A second offense of driving with a suspended license in Florida will result in:
- a first degree misdemeanor;
- a maximum 1 year jail sentence; and
- a maximum fine of $1000.
A third or subsequent offense of driving with a suspended license in Florida (or a revoked license) will result in:
- a third degree felony;
- a maximum 5 year jail sentence; and
- a maximum fine of $5,000.
What to Do If You Are Stopped for Driving With a Suspended License
After being pulled over for driving with a suspended or revoked license, do not make any statements to the police. Instead, remain silent, because anything you say or do may be used as evidence against you.
If your Miami traffic defense attorney can convince a judge that you weren’t aware of your suspension, then under Florida law, the court must reduce the charge to a non-criminal violation. To convince a judge, a Miami traffic defense attorney may show that you never received the proper notification of your driver’s license suspension.
If, perhaps, you changed your address after your Florida driver’s license was suspended, it is possible that you never received a suspension letter in the mail. This can easily be established, and this simple defense may prevent you from having a permanent criminal record. To find out whether you can fight your charge, you can get the advice of an experienced Miami traffic defense attorney.
Comments (2 Comments)
Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.