What are the penalties for driving on a suspended license in Florida?

Posted on September 15, 2010 in: Traffic Cases

In Florida, if you are charged with driving with a suspended license, your penalties will depend on whether it is your first, second, or a subsequent violation. If you have questions regarding your penalties after a criminal conviction in Florida, you can contact an experienced Miami criminal defense attorney. 

For a first offense of driving with a suspended license in Florida, you will face penalties of: 

  • second degree misdemeanor; 
  • a maximum 60 day jail sentence; and
  • a maximum fine of $500. 

For a second offense of driving with a suspended license in Florida, you will face penalties of: 

  • first degree misdemeanor;
  • a maximum 1 year jail sentence; and
  • a maximum fine of $1,000. 

For a third or subsequent offense of driving with a suspended license in Florida (or a revoked license), you will face penalties of: 

  • third degree felony; 
  • a maximum 5 year jail sentence; and
  • a maximum $5,000 fine. 

To avoid these penalties, you may be able to fight your criminal charge. To do so, you can get the help of a Miami criminal defense attorney. An attorney can explain your legal options for fighting these charges. 

Contacting a Miami Criminal Defense Attorney 

If you are facing a serious traffic violation in South Florida, your legal team is your best defense. Contact the Miami criminal defense attorneys at Falk & Ross to discuss your case – 877-663-5110.

Comments (No Comments)

No comments yet.

Post a Comment

Your email will be kept private and will not be published


6 + seven =