What Defenses are Available for a Florida Suspended License Charge?
Posted on September 17, 2010 in: Traffic Cases
If you have been charged with driving with a suspended license in Florida, there is the chance that a Miami traffic defense attorney can help you beat your charge. To do so, you can show a judge that you were not aware of your driver’s license suspension in the first place.
This is possible under Florida law.
In Florida, if you are charged with driving with a suspended license, but you were not aware that your license had been suspended, the court must reduce your charge to a non-criminal violation. To prove this in court, you can show a judge that you never received the proper notification. This may be the case if you changed your address at the time of your license suspension.
By getting your suspended license charges reduced, you can avoid penalties of:
- a second degree misdemeanor;
- a maximum 60 day jail sentence; and
- a maximum fine of $500.
On the other hand, you may be able to avoid conviction by choosing Florida’s Option 1. Option 1 is possible under a new program that has been offered since June 1, 2010. Under Florida’s Option 1, you can attend a 4-hour driver improvement course, and pay a $150 fine, and then you will be free of your criminal charges.
To learn more about Florida’s Option 1, or about fighting your criminal charge, you can contact an experienced Miami traffic defense attorney.
If you have been charged with driving with a suspended license in Florida, you may face serious criminal charges. You can learn more about the consequences of driving with a suspended or revoked license in Florida by visiting our article library.
Contacting a Miami Traffic Defense Attorney
If you are facing a serious traffic violation in South Florida, your legal team is your best defense. Contact the Miami traffic defense attorneys at Falk & Ross to discuss your case – 877-663-5110.
Comments (1 Comment)
Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.